Volunteers needed for AES Life Skills



Good afternoon,

We are currently looking for volunteers to teach the Life Skills program at Austin Elementary School. The volunteer would donate their time to teach one lesson to all third, fourth and fifth graders (unless teaching decision making or dealing with stress, which there would be a modified schedule for one day only). We are hoping to start the program in two weeks. You can pick any two days listed during the week you are available, unless otherwise noted.

Please share with anyone else you think may be interested! If you are available, please let me know and I will provide you with more details!

Here are the dates available for the 2019 lessons: 

Lesson Date Volunteer
Lesson 1: Self-Esteem Week of March 4th
Lesson 2: Decision Making Week of March 11th (modified schedule- no DAY 2, 3rd grade, due to testing) (Counselor teaching 3rd grade during specials time.)
Lesson 5: Dealing with Stress Week of March 18th (modified schedule- no DAY 2, third grade, due to testing) (NO presentations on 3/19 due to school program) (Counselor teaching 3rd grade during specials time.)
Lesson 4: Advertising Week of April 1st (no presentations on 4/3 due to class pictures)
Lesson 3: Smoking Information Week of April 8th
Lesson 6: Communication Skills Week of April 15th (no presentations on 4/18 due to school program)
Lesson 7: Social Skills Week of April 22nd
Lesson 8: Assertiveness May- AES counselor will teach Nicole White


LeAnn Walker

Prevention Resource Coordinator

Scott County Partnership 


Women’s Recovery Project


Click on the image to view the video!

As the final venture of the Women’s Recovery Project, we’ve created a video featuring leaders in our Scott County Recovery Community,

“People Like Us”

We hope this video will help many, and especially women, to see that they have a way out and that help is available for those struggling with addiction, as well as those at risk of addiction.

There is a call to action at the end that includes a local Scott County number and SAMHSA’s Treatment Helpline.


Please help by posting it on your Websites, Facebook Pages, Facebook Walls, and Twitter. You may view the video and share it from the link below.


Scott County’s “State of the Child”

Hello Community Partners,
Thanks to our Indiana Youth Institute, this will be a great opportunity for you to learn more about Scott County’s “State of the Child” on youth well-being, including trends, challenges, and solution. We hope you will make plans to attend.
Thank you, Lori
Lori Croasdell
CEASe Coordinator
Drug-Free Communities Coordinator
Marketing, PR, Outreach Coordinator
Scott County Partnership, Inc.
PO Box 214, 1092 Community Way
Scottsburg, IN 47170
Cell:  (812) 820-0620


February 13, 2019

Media Contact:

Lori Croasdell, 812-820-0620



Scott County, IN – Representatives from Scott County returned home from Washington, D.C., area where they were joined by 2900 substance abuse prevention specialists and advocates from across the country for CADCA’s (Community Anti-Drug Coalitions of America’s) 29th Annual National Leadership Forum.

“We are reenergized with new strategies under our belt to tackle drug use in Scott County. It was exciting to spend several days with other similar organizations from across the country, learning and honing our prevention skills so our community can be a better place, one that doesn’t suffer from the harms of drug and alcohol abuse,” says Lori Croasdell, CEASe/DFC Coordinator.

Our coalition representatives heard from and had a private meet and greet and photo op with Dr. Jerome M. Adams, the Surgeon General of the United States. CEASe and EMPOWER also met with U.S. representatives and senators at the Forum’s Capitol Hill Day event, including Senator Mike Braun and Congressman Trey Hollingsworth.

Scott County’s EMPOWER Youth Coalition members attending included Austin High School’s Olivia Miner, Bentley Mahaney, and Luke Watts, as well as Scottsburg High School’s Eliza Mount, Madelyn Shelton, and Emma Christoff. The youth informed our federal legislators on Scott County’s initiatives, as well as advocated on behalf of Scott County.

The Austin high school youth shared their favorite parts of this experience: My favorite thing in DC was getting to meet our politicians from Indiana,” shared Bentley Mahaney. Luke Watts added, “My favorite part of the trip was getting the opportunity to advocate for Scott County and show that the youth are making a difference.” Olivia Miner continued, “The trip was a very rewarding experience. I learned that our congressmen, senators and their aids are all very concerned about what is occurring in Scott County. They have so many other obligations, but they were very eager to assist us. I particularly liked meeting with the US Surgeon General and hearing about his brother. I feel like he could really relate to us, and I appreciated how he mentioned Scott County repeatedly and took the time to meet one-on-one with us.”

The Scottsburg high school students shared, “My favorite thing about the trip was capital hill day. It was really interesting to speak one-on-one with the Senators and Representatives because it humanized them and reminded me that they are everyday people working to better our country,” shared Emma Christoff. Eliza Mount added, “The most inspiring aspect of the trip for me was the magnitude of energy and passion generated by the hundreds of people gathering with the same goal in mind: to transform our communities through the power of prevention. Throughout the week, the whole conference came together as one unifying force, and it felt amazing.” 

# # #

Lori Croasdell
CEASe Coordinator
Drug-Free Communities Coordinator
Marketing, PR, Outreach Coordinator
Scott County Partnership, Inc.
PO Box 214, 1092 Community Way
Scottsburg, IN 47170
Cell:  (812) 820-0620